Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A - Oz Echoes

V/A - Oz Echoes

Efficient Space

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Oz Echoes peels away another layer of Australia’s ‘80s DIY hive mind. The Oz Waves successor exposes a deeper circuit of micro-run cassettes, community radio archives and irrationally abandoned studio sessions, as Steele Bonus sequences a 10-track compendium of drone pop, psyche-electronics and agitated tape cut-ups.

From the Sydney cassette network, The Horse He's Sick returns with an industrial car crash, alongside Wrong Kind of Stone Age’s pagan cacophony and primal riddims. M Squared dynamo Patrick Gibson appears in both Height/Dismay and Mr Knott, his respective studio-as-an-instrument collaborations with Dru Jones (Scattered Order) and ex-Slugfucker Gordon Renouf - the former’s worn out apparition hails from an instantly deleted 1981 7”, while Mr Knott entrust one of the compilation’s five previously unreleased tracks.

Matt Mawson represents Brisbane music media-printed matter collective ZIP, as Adelaide’s Three D Radio grants access to their vaults of live-to-air recordings and aspiring demo submissions, rescuing the slap-happy punk-funk of The Frenzied Bricks and Jandy Rainbow’s prodigious beginnings in Les Trois Etrangers and Aeroplane Footsteps. Synchronously in Melbourne, Ash Wednesday (Karen Marks, The Metronomes) leads Modern Jazz’ improvised proto-techno and EBM pioneers Shanghai Au Go-Go home record their sardonic synth-wave.

A cherry-picked cast of unusual suspects, Oz Echoes’ unfamed artist and non-band narratives are detailed by track-by-track liner notes with rarely published archival visions and artwork from Video Synth, prompting further rabbit hole ventures into this golden era of creative risk-taking and instant action.

1. Height/Dismay - Mother’s Footsteps 03:12
2. The Frenzied Bricks - Vicious Circle 03:30
3. Modern Jazz - Zoom Dub 05:01
4. Mr Knott - Poor Galileo (He Has Gone Mad) 03:47
5. Aeroplane Footsteps - Arabia 03:13
6. Shanghai Au Go-Go - I Cried All Winter 05:20
7. Matt Mawson - Open The Goddam Door 03:21
8. The Horse He's Sick - Terminal Rebound 03:47
9. Wrong Kind Of Stone Age - Ravi Dubbi 03:54
10. Les Trois Etrangers - Luna 01:55

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Efficient Space
Catalog: ES018
Released: March 2021
Genre: Electronics / Avant-garde / Left field