Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A – Le Grand Sud-Est - 1979-1986

V/A – Le Grand Sud-Est - 1979-1986

Les Éditions Vermillon

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Les Éditions Vermillon stem from virtual friendships built around forgotten music. Navigating an aesthetical repertoire ranging from funk to soul, gliding by jazz and reaching toward the birth of electronic music, the friends’ musical exchanges transcend egotistical visions in the hope of shared emotions. Théo (G2S), Hugo (Tiny Albert), Baptiste (Acquired Taste) and Elise Kravets decided to embody this feeling in a record label.

Choosing Lyon as their starting point, the desire to appreciate a forgotten musical legacy quickly extended to a regional scale with the aim of shedding light on the diversity and effervescence of local scenes. With the goal of reproducing the fullness of these sounds and textures, the search and selection of titles quickly gave way to the hunt for original tapes and sources. Several stages of audio restoration and digitization were undertaken to deliver a compilation of the highest possible quality. For its first release, the label offers a stroll along the Rhône river to discover, through forgotten songs, the funkiest sides of the Provençale and Rhône-Alpes 80’s scene.

Although the music portrays a diverse palette, from Digen, with its meticulous Jazz-Funk straight from Lyon’s heart, the clubbesque rhythmic section and cheeky bass of Dans Tes Bras (VCA Mix), and the summer balearic anthem Tropique Du Cancer, to the soft “French Boogie” theme of Fun Safari, the soul-filled choirs of Patchwork, the pastoral getaway that is L’Anthropofemme, the scathing ode of prehistoric reptiles in Fill Le Crocodile and the Jazz-Funk incantation Fai Tira Marius; they all sweat funk.

Having not known the top 50 in their first lives, this compilation aspires to bring these pieces of music to the top 8.

A1. Bernard Lloret - Digen [03:10]
A2. Absolute Fantaisie & Marti Di Stefano - Dans Tes Bras (VCA Mix) [06:03]
A3. Yvon Mora - Tropique Du Cancer [04:21]
A4. Isabelle - Fun Safari [03:59]
B1. Le Patchwork - Patchwork [04:12]
B2. Syntaxe - L'Anthropofemme (Chanson) [03:52]
B3. Boisson - Payet - Fill Le Crocodile (Version Instrumentale) [03:15]
B4. Eugénie - Fai Tira Marius 2:53]

Format: 2x 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Les Éditions Vermillon
Catalog: LEVC001
Released: 2021
Genre: Jazz / Funk / Soul