Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A – Hustle! Reggae Disco

V/A – Hustle! Reggae Disco

Soul Jazz Records

*FREE SHIPPING* This item qualifies for complimentary Australia-wide shipping

Expanded edition which now features five extra tracks!

This ground-breaking album features non-stop killer reggae versions of original funk and soul classics in a disco style. Reggae disco updates of seminal classics by Anita Ward (‘Ring My Bell’), Chaka Khan (‘I’m Every Woman’), Michael Jackson ‘Don’t Stop ‘til You Get Enough,’ Sugarhill Gang (‘Rappers Delight’ here performed by Derrick Laro & Trinity for producer Joe Gibbs) and more, all showing the hidden but inseparable link between the dance floors of New York, Kingston and London.

New bonus tracks to this collection include Derrick Harriott’s funky take on Eddie Drennon’s ‘Do It Nice and Easy’, the classic disco reggae of Risco Connection’s performing McFadden and Whitehead’s ‘Ain’t No Stopping Us Now’ and the London rare groove lovers rock of Charmaine Burnett singing Barbara Acklin’s soul classic ‘Am I The Same Girl’.

‘Hustle! Reggae Disco’ has been one of Soul Jazz Records’ best-selling releases since its first release 15 years ago (and subsequently featured heavily in the early Grand Theft Auto games!). This new edition comes complete fully re-mastered and with all original titles plus new tracks. This new expanded edition now comes as a triple album (+ download code), CD and digital album.

‘The effect of American R&B and soul music on Jamaican reggae is well documented, but the story doesn't stop there, for disco (and more so now for rap and hip-hop) have also been subsumed into the reggae mix, and while one might suspect that the resulting hybrid would die of its own implausibility, the feral mix of disco with reggae rhythms is so darn infectious that it hardly matters. Once you take your brain out of the frame and just let your feet go, this collection is a dancer's delight all done up in full-blown disco style, but with huge dub-style rhythm tracks … if you're looking for an impossibly infectious dance collection, this is it.’ – All Music

A1. Blood Sisters – Ring My Bell
A2. Derrick Laro And Trinity – Don't Stop Till You Get Enough
B1 Chariot Riders – Do It Nice & Easy
B2 Black Harmony – Don't Let It Go To Your Head
C1. Latisha – I'm Every Woman
C2. Ernest Ranglin – In The Rain
C3. Family Choice – Reggae Beats Goes On
D1. Risco Connection – Ain't No Stopping Us Now
D2. Xanadu And Sweet Lady – Rapper's Delight
E1. Sharon Forrester – Love Don't Live Here Any More
E2. Carol Cool – Upside Down F1. One Blood – Be Thankful For What You've Got
F2. Charmaine Burnett – Am I The Same Girl

Format: 3 x 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Soul Jazz Records
Catalog: SJR LP368
Released: 2017
Genre: Reggae / Disco / Funk / Soul