Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A –  Gangster Music Vol.2

V/A – Gangster Music Vol.2

All City Records

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

For Gangster Doodles working on Gangster Music Vol 1 “was one of the most satisfying & fun projects I've been able to be a part of and the idea of continuing the series was a no-brainer. Thankfully All City was interested in keeping the party going”

If it aint broke and all that – this second volume follows the first with an all-star line-up which features everyone from hotly-tipped emerging Producers and MCs like Ovrkast, Shungu, Woodie Smalls, Big Baby Scumbag next to underground perennials like Teebs, Ohbliv and Knxwlege all the way up to top flight producer Dam Funk and established vets like M.E.D, Black Milk, Lil B and Open Mike Eagle.
This second collaboration between All City Records and Gangster Doodles is a jam-packed sonic adventure featuring 28 killer tracks from some of the finest creators out there.

“Gangster Music Vol.2 is a living/breathing tracklist of all the music and artists I've been obsessively listening to over the past couple of years(and beyond). Every artist that's on Vol.2 is a creative force pushing boundaries and trailblazing new paths to greatness.”

An exhausting compiling process via emails, DMs, texts and a myriad of other electronic form of badgering and prodding, the last few years have been busy for Marlon "Gangster Doodles" Sassy. In addition to this he released his acclaimed Gangster Doodles (The Book) alongside an ever-expanding array of prints, original works, apparel and exhibitions across the globe. Topping that off with animation projects, a graphic novel in the works and now, with this his second curated LP titled " Gang$ter Music Vol 2".

Describing the cover art “Every morning I start my day with a bowl(or 2) of Fruit Loops. Usually on the back of the box they have different activities to do. On one of them was a black and white image of Toucan Sam chilling in a tree. In large colorful font, it said you could cut out the image and color it in to create your own version. That idea really resonated with me. Continuing the cartoon cat theme from Vol.1 I chose Felix the Cat to help encapsulate this idea and then flip it on it's head. A black and white album cover that could be left as is or if the mood strikes- go and grab some markers, pens, crayons, paint, ink and create your own unique doodle versions”

“After a year and a half of covid hell I'm thrilled to be able to release this new music compilation. Fuck the bubble. It's time to get weird.”

A1 DāM-Funk – Allies [03:12]
A2 Ovrkast – OOF! [02:37]
A3 Big Baby Scumbag – Steve Irwin [01:51]
A4 Woodie Smalls – Get Straight To It [03:01]
A5 Knxwledge – Wrongabtme [02:54]
A6 Liv.E – My Friend Told Me to [02:56]
A7 Iman Omari – Bellflowr [01:40]
B1 Black Milk – Cause I Was Living [02:53]
B2 Fitz Ambrose – Good For You [02:23]
B3 Zeroh – Dont Play It Safe [02:28]
B4 Mike G – Champion [04:12]
B5 Teebs – Walk [02:25]
B6 M.E.D. & Premethius – The Low Endz [01:51]
B7 Wun Two – Porto [01:52]
C1 Lester Nowhere – Bush To Berkeley [02:36]
C2 The Gaslamp Killer – One For Ras G [02:12]
C3 King Kashmere – Crown Of The Serpent [03:09]
C4 LoopHeavy – Questions [01:57]
C5 Ohbliv – Much Given [02:36]
C6 Open Mike Eagle – Vanity Searchin' [03:54]
C7 Ozoyo – Astro Boy [02:21]
D1 Hook – Dork [02:08]
D2 Spook – Silly Bands [02:29]
D3 Shungu – Lovin [01:36]
D4 Mr. Muthafuckin' eXquire – Big Dick Energy [02:16]
D5 Igory – Fluttah [02:09]
D6 Spectacular Diagnostics – Fingerprints [02:04]
D7 Kyeoshin – s.w.i.m [02:38]

Format: 2 x 12 inch Vinyl LP + 44 page booklet
Label: All City Records
Catalog: ACGDLPx2
Released: 2021
Genre: Hip-hop / Rap