Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A - Esa Presents Amandla: Music To The People

V/A - Esa Presents Amandla: Music To The People

Soundway Records

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

This summer, Soundway Records will release Esa Presents Amandla: Music To The People, a double vinyl electronic music compilation by DJ and producer Esa Williams.

Growing up in Cape Town, South Africa, during the last days of Apartheid, Esa recalls the immense power that music had in resisting oppression and division. “Amandla, Awethu”, which literally means “the power is ours”, was an ubiquitous chant echoing throughout the politically charged atmosphere of the time – a call to unite, and a call from which this release derives not only its title, but its intention as well.

“Music was a crucial way of bringing people and communities together”, reflects Esa, “and it’s what I hope to achieve with this compilation, too”.

For Esa Williams is not only a musical polymath but also passionate about connecting people through music. A skilled DJ, producer and educator, Esa has found ways of bringing people together and enhancing the talent present - from being a band leader, reigniting the legendary Ata Kak band from Ghana, or a collaborator with the likes of Tanzanian artist Mim Suleiman, to focusing his energy on electronic music-focused educational programmes in Cuba, Brazil, and East & South Africa

The result is a rainbow of complementary electronic styles hailing from not only South Africa but further afield, including zouk from Brazil and the French Antilles, as well as Afro-futurism and Bacardi House. Together, they form a comprehensive picture that connects the dots of Esa’s musical journey – from growing up in South Africa, to artists he has encountered in his worldwide travels who have helped develop his identity as a musician.

1. Penny Penny - Shilungu 05:18
2. Alaska - Accuse (Instrumental) 06:14
3. Ze Spirits Band - Tucheza (Esa Extended Mix) 04:57
4. Nonku Phiri - Sîfó (feat. Dion Monti) 04:28
5. Os Panteras - Melo Do Anjo (Outra Edit) 05:00
6. Pascal Latour - Lague Yo (Boulo Edit) 05:55
7. Masalo - Yera (feat. Doussou Koulibaly) 06:25
8. Esa - Pantsula Traxx 04:35
9. Narchbeats - Cheeks 03:38
10. DJ Spoko - #Justsnares 03:57

Format: 2 x 12-inch Vinyl LP 
Label: Soundway Records
Catalog: SNDWLP131
Released: August 2019
Genre: Electronic / Dance / African