Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

V/A – 10 Years of Butter Sessions - Disc One

V/A – 10 Years of Butter Sessions - Disc One

Butter Sessions

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Naarm (Melbourne) based collective Butter Sessions celebrate over a decade in business with an extensive glossary of talented friends and affiliates pressed on a three-part compilation series. The label has always held the community closest, as exemplified by the 20+ artists featured over the three releases. Each 12” presents a grand soundscape anchored into the tenebrous energy of the dancefloor, with its inquisitive electronics and fierce pulse. If there was a definition for the Butter Sessions sound of ten years in the making, the answer lies here.

The first installment opens with To Be Continued, an erratic composition from Aotearoa’s Vanessa Worm, charged with robotic bass and incessant hi-hats. Perth's upper shelf producers Guy Contact and Ewan Jansen respectively insert their own flavour with Kickflip Bouquet, a mid-tempo trance tinged number, and Back to Blood, a distorted percolating experiment. Meanwhile, Barcelona based Ivy Barkakati contributes Descarga; a gnawing improvisation piece. Sleep D offers up a brooding atmospheric piece of techno with 041111, whilst Japan’s Haruka follows suit with the elastic Ishinoko. Albrecht La'Brooy drifts into more tranquil terrain with the flickering Butter Soft before Low Flung & DJ Mind Leaf & The Herbalist wrap up volume one with the dub-induced Take Out.

A1. Vanessa Worm – To Be Continued [05:51]
A2. Guy Contact – Kickflip Bouquet [05:33]
A3. Ewan Jansen – Back to Blood [05:52]
A4. Ivy Barkakati – Descarga [03:05]
B1. Sleep D– 041111 [05:46]
B2. Haruka (10)– Ishinoko [06:05]
B3. Albrecht La'Brooy– Buttersoft [06:05]
B4. Low Flung, DJ Mind Leaf & The Herbalist – Take Out [05:46]

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Butter Sessions
Catalog: BSRTEN1
Released: 2021 
Genre: Electronic / Club / Electro