Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

The Mauskovic Dance Band – Bukaroo Bank

The Mauskovic Dance Band – Bukaroo Bank

Les Disques Bongo Joe

Regular price $45.00

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Bukaroo Bank is actually Mauskovic’s second album. There, the band reinvents both their approach and their sound, while maintaining the rhythm-forward euphoria heard on their debut album and surrounding singles. It is one of those albums that sounds brashly live, like you’re in the room while the jams are being kicked out, but in fact uses the studio very shrewdly.

Recorded in 2020, during one of the Netherlands’ intermittent lockdown bouts, for this one the MDB wanted to step up from their previous homebase, Garage Noord – an ad hoc Amsterdam space for recording, practise and after-hours parties. They chose Electric Monkey, operated by engineer Kasper Frenkel. His stacks of what Nicola calls “very strange equipment”, and ability to sprinkle magic dub dust over everything, suited the vibe perfectly. The results glow and shiver with assembled synth sounds, rhythms spliced and echoed in a way that hails late Jamaican dub great Lee Perry – maybe the band’s biggest influence.

Some sections might remind you of Afro-disco or slightly older highlife, others industrial prototypes like early Cabaret Voltaire, or 1980s On-U Sound mainstays like African Head Charge, or NYC groovers such as Liquid Liquid... there are outbreaks of saxophone, congas, echo units, wah-wah disco guitars, beats that sound programmed but aren’t (a nod to MDB’s industrial side). If that sounds fun to you, be assured that Bukaroo Bank is an irrepressibly fun album – but one that contains multitudes. 

1. Bukaroo Bank [03:19]
2. Face [03:40]
3. Wie niet weg is is gezien [02:39]
4. Parata Est [03:53]
5. Zwaar [04:55]
6. Bebi [03:41]
7. People In The Hall [04:45]
8. Dr Rhythm Space [02:02]
9. Telefoon Dub [04:57]
10. Samen [03:36]
11. Bukaroo Bank - Slow Version [03:16]
12. Slow Crack [04:18]

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Les Disques Bongo Joe
Catalog: BJR082
Released: October 2022
Genre: Disco / Post-Punk / No Wave