Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Sleep D - Smoke Haze

Sleep D - Smoke Haze

Planet Euphorique

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Off the back of their debut LP, Sleep D continue to thrive and refine their production skills, this time with the 10th EP on Planet Euphorique, “Smoke Haze”. 2020 - the future is now, the 4 tracks each offer a glimpse into a distant yet looming world of dark, driving atmospherics; outer worldly electronics perfect for club use. Sticking true to their deep, cosmic constructions, the Australian duo feel to have fully come into their sound, ever progressive and evocative, whilst never forgetting the filth, jack and grit that drives us to move.

A1 “Freezer”, wastes no time, diving in with militant metallic flair, elevated above ground through the syncopated stabs and swirling synthesis. Continuing to build throughout the track with delicate, imperative percussion and rolling delays, bubbling analog voices slipping in and out of consciousness to contrast the 4/4 steadiness. “Green Pond”, the A2 takes off from the opener, bringing a naughty tech-house energy, making it impossible to stand still as the sleazy bass locks in with the drums. Winding high-end technicality balances the playful lows, muffled vocal hooks and decaying leads evoking a sense of hedonism, snapped back to reality by the fierce snare programming.

On the B side “King Tide” teases a slightly lighter mood, with energized melody and floating bounce. Utilizing familiar tones and percussion, whilst experimenting with filters and resonance to take you on a sonic exploration. A state of hypnosis, occasionally interrupted by subtle unexpected contrast, those special desired moments on a dance floor. “Bugger”, the final track on the record, presents a skin crawling anthem destined for the darkest of corners, murked shadows engaging in a heavy stomp. Bass focused, blurring genres, total sludge with a whiplash - commanding your attention.

Each track brings its own unique mastery and mature sound design, built upon a trusted foundation of rolling elation. As the Melbourne X Planet Euphorique partnership continues to develop, the pairing feels particularly ideal, linking in harmony to deliver an innovative, polished record primed to cause havoc.

1. Freezer (07:00) 
2. Green Pond (06:31) 
3. King Tide (05:59) 
4. Bugger (06:48)

Format: 12-inch Vinyl
Label: Planet Euphorique
Catalog: PE010
Released: March 2020
Genre: Techno / Club / Electronic