Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Pointer Sisters - We've Got The Power

Pointer Sisters - We've Got The Power

Groove Line Records

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Groove Line Records are proud to add to their 2015 releases of half-speed mastered re-issuesingles with The Pointer Sister's classic 1980 tracks We've Got The Power and Evil, taken from the Richard Perry produced album Special Things.

This is the first time We've Got The Power has been released on a 12” single. The genre defying female family vocal group The Pointer Sisters during a critically and commercially successful career took in country, jazz, blues, soul and funk to pop, disco, dance, electronic music and rock.

Side A features the full length album version of the dance floor classic We've Got The Power. The track opens with beautiful, sweeping strings over a solid, engaging beat before showcasing the trio's natural, tight harmonies on the opening verse. June's bright, powerful, gutsy voice then takes centre stage on the lead vocal bridging the verse into the uplifting horn-led chorus on which her sisters join her to mesmerising effect. The sweeping string motif then makes a brief re-appearance before an even more impassioned second verse and chorus make way for the instrumental sequence. Alternating between a funky horn line and the sweeping strings the instrumental passage takes the track to even greater heights, effortlessly carrying the listener and/or dancer through to the final verse and cleverly extended final chorus as the track fades. The Pointer Sisters’ commanding, heartfelt vocal sound is perfectly suited to convey the song's theme of striving to retain innocence and positivity even in the face of life's many challenges.

Side B features arguably The Pointer Sisters’ hardest hitting recording, the funk/rock track Evil. Helmed by a snarling June on lead vocals, ably assisted by her siblings. The song is centred round the evil character, “Pretty Poison,” whom the sisters are seeking to turn the tables on due to his love 'em and leave 'em attitude. Explosive from the outset the powerful, alternating guitar and horn lines, along with a driving funk bass set the tone for the duration of the track, only yielding for the verses. Expertly arranged to maintain the driving momentum throughout Evil boasts an incredible guitar solo from Paul Jackson, Jr. and a dextrous vocal scat sequence before the sisters layer their vocals over the progressive, expansive horn lines as the extended closing chorus fades, leaving you breathless after just over three minutes. Evil is a bona fide funk bomb. All Groove Line Records releases are fully licensed and taken from the original master tapes, remastered by Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering, and cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy (Mastering Engineer of the Year 2013) using half-speed mastering for optimum sound quality.

All vinyl is heavy weight 180g manufactured by Optimal Media in Germany, one of the world’s finest pressing plants. Groove Line Records cut no corners when making sure that each and every one of our releases has the highest quality performance possible.
Groove Line Records’ deluxe reissue of “We've Got The Power” and “Evil” is an essential purchase for any serious Disco or Funk vinyl collector who demands the very best in quality vinyl pressings.

Format: 12-inch Vinyl
Label: Groove Line Records 
Catalog: GLR12 0008
Released: 2015
Genre: Disco / Boogie / Funk