Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Lewis Taylor – Lewis Taylor

Lewis Taylor – Lewis Taylor

Be With Records

Regular price $65.00

*FREE SHIPPING* This item qualifies for complimentary Australia-wide shipping

D’Angelo lost his shit over it. Aaliyah’s 3rd favourite track of all time is on it. David Bowie rocked up with it to a TV interview, declaring it “the most exciting sound of contemporary soul music”.

In 1996, Lewis Taylor released his self-titled masterpiece. A true modern classic, it’s an album that was years ahead of its time. Forget 25 years ago, it could easily have been made right now in 2021. An effortless blend of neo-soul, sophisticated pop, smart grooves and laid-back white funk, it enjoyed rapturous reviews from critics and music legends alike. But the album never managed to make an impact and given what was likely a token vinyl release at the time, the original records have long since been near-impossible to find. Lewis Taylor’s Lewis Taylor remains a holy relic for some and criminally unknown to most.

This CD-length album was squeezed onto a single LP for its original vinyl release. Simon Francis’s fresh vinyl mastering now spreads out the ten tracks over a double LP so nothing is compromised.

This sprawling psychedelic soul opus really is a forgotten should-be-classic. We know that there are those of you who know, and as for the rest of you, we’re a bit jealous that you’re getting to hear Lewis Taylor for the first time.

A1.  Lucky [06:34]
A2.  Bittersweet [05:36]
B1.  Whoever [04:31]
B2.  Track [05:11]
B3.  Song [04:56]
C1.  Betterlove [05:25]
C2.  How [03:59]
D1.  Right [04:27]
D2.  Damn [06:01]
D3.  Spirit [03:16]

Format: 2 x 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Be With Records
Catalog: BEWITH099LP
Released: September 2021
Genre: Funk / Soul / Neo-soul / Electronic