Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Lee Noble - Ruiner

Lee Noble - Ruiner


$45.00 Sale price

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Lee Noble’s album ‘Ruiner’ is a distant and haunting affair. From the opening sounds you know this is going to be something unusual as each song builds from layered images or fragments and the overall effect is quite eerie. The instruments involved are not that unorthodox, with simple strummed guitar, banjo, church organs and  and vocals, but the variety of sounds/ samples along with the murky production change it into something quite abstract.

The songs vary from lost folk songs to heavily layered drone and often the two in the one song. Samples build up and reverberate like strange echoes in the recording room or stray thoughts, they pound and slowly fade into the back ground. The vocals are low in the mix and almost like they were picked up by a stray microphone. It leaves you straining to hear what is being said and makes you listen all the more intently. Other songs offer brash synth sounds, such as on Rewilding, which is simply keyboard over a drum machine that fades out just at it becomes something solid.

Lee Noble is a Los Angeles based multi-instrumentalist that has developed his sound through using vintage analog drones. The variety of sounds used in this deeply layered collection of songs make this an interesting puzzle you’ll be trying to solve for many months to come. 

- No More Workhorse.

1. Covers 03:53
2. December ∞ 04:42
3. Tigermoth 01:44
4. Demon Pond 09:23
5. Rewilding 03:01
6. Remind Me 05:55
7. Disintegrate Ideas 03:36
8. Wring the Rag 03:54
9. I Don't Blame You We're Having the Same Dream 05:18

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Bathetic
Catalog: BATH075
Released: 2013
Genre: Experimental / Ambient / Drone / Folk