Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

J. Walker – Spectra!

J. Walker – Spectra!

Elations Recordings

Regular price $30.00

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Spectra! represents a lone, anomaly release by illusive producer and recording artist J. Walker of Perth, Western Australia. Recorded and produced in 2016, Spectra! comprises a collection of 12 instrumental works composed in response to an imagined brief investigating the refined shades and pigments of colour.

Whilst stylistically somewhat comparable to library music recordings from Europe released throughout the 1980’s, Walker’s compositions never step too closely toward facsimile. Instead, they maintain a unique sense of identity, one closer akin to a born-too-late contemporary interpretation of the sentimentality and lost moods that allowed library music it’s point of difference and charm in the first place. Unlike many modern artists who flirt with the past, Walker isn’t concerned with carbon copying the sound palate and tape hiss of yesterday. In these works, antecedent emotional and harmonic bodies are given new life and form by means of modern studio hardware, Recommended for fans of the Coloursound Library and Joël Vaandroogenbroeck.

A1. Acne Dusk [02:40]
A2. Resentment Rose [03:45]
A3. Salmon [03:31]
A4. Burnt Orange [03:32]
A5. Amber [02:44] A6. Metallic Spit/Silver Place 04:12]
B1. Chalk Apple [03:33]
B2. Basted Salami [03:10]
B3. Stainless Steel [03:04]
B4. Eggplant [02:04]
B5. Radiant Orchard [03:34]
B6. Crimson [03:14

Format: 12-inch vinyl LP
Label: Elations Recordings
Catalog: ELA001
Released: September 10, 2021
Genre: Library / Experimental / Leftfield / Minimal