Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Hydroplane – Hydroplane

Hydroplane – Hydroplane

Efficient Space

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Hydroplane reinstate their formidable 1997 debut of sublime guitar atmospherics, fragile lyricism and droning incidentals with an overdue vinyl and digital reissue.

An offshoot of the now-féted The Cat’s Miaow, the trio formed after their drummer decamped to London, charting new territory with tape loops, manipulated samples and a borrowed Jupiter 4 in the wake of Endtroducing. Adopting a handle that Dean Wareham once considered calling Luna, Hydroplane intended to only ever release Excerpts From Forthcoming LP, a single-sided 7” sonic collage, before imploding in mystery. Their label however insisted they deliver their taunted album. From the comfort of a Brunswick flat, they continued to record soaring melodies and restrained song structures to 4-track, sculpting dramatic Radiophonic Workshop cues weighted in reverb and near-perfect dream pop lead by Kerrie Bolton’s empyrean vocals.
Bored of industry expectation and largely ignored by local audiences, the reluctant performers followed the way of The Cannanes and formed meaningful overseas alliances by mail and phone, securing releases on Michigan outpost Drive-In and Broadcast launching pad Wurlitzer Jukebox. Championed by John Peel with twenty spins on his converted Radio One slot and even polling in the Festive Fifty of 1997, the humble three-piece still walked to their neighbourhood shops undetected.
Previously only available as a US-issued CD, this reminiscent late-night suite establishes Hydroplane as an everlasting ember in Australia’s beloved indie nexus.

A1. Wurlitzer Jukebox
A2. Piano Movement With Percussion
A3. Song For The Meek
A4. I Hear A New World
A5. New Monotonic FM
A6. House Warming
A7. 14th July
B1. Reprise
B2. Beloved Invader
B3. Interlude
B4. New Monotonic FM (Acoustic)
B6. Send In The Clowns
B7. Completed Extract From The Previous 7"

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Efficient Space
Catalog: ES027
Released: May 2022
Genre: Indie / Alternative / Pop