Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Dark Arts – Reflections In A Rear View Mirror

Dark Arts – Reflections In A Rear View Mirror

Stroom TV

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

"This is an anthology, a selection of old and new. It's a collection of the past but moving forward. It's past and future."

Dark Arts is one of those bands that for some reason got lost in the shuffle. It was founded in Columbus, Ohio, by a man named Bob Katt, the "cool, older guy" who went to all the concerts in town and had been in a bunch of other bands. Initially there were five members: in '83 there was Bob on bass and percussion, singer Sue Ann Mason, drummer Dave Green, Bill Bruner on guitar and Stephanie Payne on keyboard. Katt is the one who brought everyone together and came up with the name: they were the 'art' band and they were 'dark'. Keyboard player Stephanie Payne, just like Katt, was also present at every musical happening. Young and eager, she would turn out to be the motor and musical mastermind of the group. When she decided to move to Los Angeles, California, Sue-Ann and new member Larry Altvater decided to tag along. By the time they made their first full album, on Phil Druckers (Savage Republic and 17 Pygmies) label Nate Starkman and Son, they had split up. Payne decided to move on and continued the band by herself, ever finding new musicians.

1. Lament [05:46]
2. The More Things Stay The Same [04:25]
3. Autumn Red [03:10]
4. Fragments Of A Smile [04:10]
5. Memory Of A Dream [06:03]
6. Grey Eyes In Glass [03:37]
7. Egeria [06:12]
8. Chemia [03:55]
9. Fractions [03:36]
10. Golden Fond Memories [03:49]

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Stroom TV
Catalog: STREP-023
Released: 2020
Genre: Dark Ambient / Wave / Leftfield