Highgate Continental: In Northbridge logo

Brian Bennett & Alan Hawkshaw - Synthesizer & Percussion

Brian Bennett & Alan Hawkshaw - Synthesizer & Percussion

Be With Records

Free Australia-wide shipping on all orders over $60

Released in the same year as Synthesis over on KPM, 1974’s Synthesizer and Percussion is its essential companion piece. “This record features the many distinctive sounds of the ARP Synthesizer plus percussion in various moods and tempos” is the even more underwhelming than usual library record sales pitch for Alan Hawkshaw and Brian Bennett’s second collection of what is basically minimal G-funk, with overtones of primitive acid house. This is ridiculously good.

This is one of Hawkshaw and Bennett’s wilder joints and aeons ahead of its time. Bennett’s tough drums provide the underpinnings for the prominent bass, keys and bubbling synths high up in the mix, alongside Hawkshaw’s deranged clavinet-funk-rock. There are heavenly break loops galore.

Opener "Mon Amour" is ultra-smooth funk, all inter-weaving melodic lines whilst the seminal "Oddball" is an incredible hard electro strut with a knocking break. "Mile High Swinger" is a tranquil Spaghetti Western whistling theme over double tempo rhythmic movement and the pulsating "Auto Pilot" has a percussive groove elevated by electric piano and synthesizer. Check "Driving Force”, “Home Run” and "Pacesetter" for electroid prog-funk dripped in acid squelch.

All five final tracks are beatless synth workouts, because they can.

As with all ten re-issues, the audio for Synthesizer and Percussion comes from the original analogue tapes and has been remastered for vinyl by Be With regular Simon Francis. We’ve taken the same care with the sleeves, handing the reproduction duties over to Richard Robinson, the current custodian of KPM’s brand identity.

And don’t worry! Those KPM stickers aren’t stuck directly on the sleeves!

1. Mon Amour 
2. Oddball 
3. Daytripper 
4. Mile High Swinger (Vers. A) 
5. Mile High Swinger (Vers. B) 
6. Auto-Pilot 
7. Pacesetter 
8. Home Run 
9. Driving Force 
10. Action Man 
11. Funky Chicken 
12. Jolly Roger 
13. Dumbo 
14. Plain Song 
15. Fanfair 

Format: 12-inch Vinyl LP
Label: Be With Records
Catalog: BEWITH 050LP
Released: November 2018
Genre: Jazz - Funk / Soul